It’s Tuesday

28 May

It’s Tuesday, my friends, and you know what that means? 4 days till the weekend! (I love three day weekends—it’s like a mini vacation).

On to today’s topic: chocolate. Six months ago I would have told you that I prefer the milk varieties but I have finally seen the light (or the dark, I guess) and FULLY converted to dark chocolate consumption.  Milk chocolate is full of sugar which always left me feeling jittery and un-energized.

I decided to do a little experimenting in the kitchen last night and came up with this gem…

CIMG3795

DARK CHOCOLATE OAT CLUSTERS

Think those awesome no-bake-chocolate-peanut-butter-full-of-sugary-goodness cookies of our childhood, but healthified.

2 tbsp. peanut butter
2 tbsp. milk
1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
3/4 cup oats

Heat peanut butter, milk and dark chocolate chips over low heat until it looks something like this…
CIMG3787

CIMG3788

Add oats and form into balls!

CIMG3796
…and then lick the bowl clean, obviously.

CIMG3797

I know they say that baking requires exact measurements, but honestly I think it’s a little more fun when you wing it.

I was in true experimenting form tonight! My amendments included:

Honey Peanut Butter (the recipe only calls for two tbsp. but I think heaping tablespoons are better)

CIMG3775

My favorite swap: using chocolate almond milk instead of regular milk !

CIMG3779

I didn’t have chocolate chips on hand but I did have the remains of dark chocolate fondue so of course I had to use that!

CIMG3782

This recipe was originally called Dark Chocolate Love Bites, so you are welcome to eat them with your loves…

WP_000019

CIMG3516DSC00919

…or on any other occasion!

I personally am going to freeze these gems and pop one in my lunch this week for an afternoon pick me up.

What do you do to get out of that afternoon slump? 

Leave a Reply

