Organize Me Monday: Makeup

3 Jun

Haley and I love organizing–like LOVE organizing.  Sometimes for us, organizing becomes an obsession.  A few weekends ago I went up to visit Haley at college (only 2 weeks until she is back for the summer!) to find her closet perfectly color coded. Her bed was immaculately made and her bazillion coffee mugs were perfectly in order.  It was downright freaky.

As most younger sisters do, I look up to my big sis.  Naturally, I caught the organizing bug when I got back home and set out to tackle… my makeup, which was in dire need of an overhaul.  [To our male readers: this may not seem relevant, but hang in there! I’m sure you will learn something!]

CIMG3850Gross and unorganized, right?

Ok, so confession time.  In Haley’s absence I have been sleeping in her bed (because it is bigger than mine) and using her side of the room to pretty myself (because her mirror is right next to the outlets).  A girl’s gotta have her outlets, am I right? I mostly had to tackle this mess because pretty soon Haley is going to be back in town and will want her space back. (We share a room if you haven’t made that connection yet).

Anyway, I decided the easiest way to deal with organizing this mess would be to separate the things I use ALL the time from the things I use SOME of the time.  I moved extra face soap, lotion and other miscellaneous stuff I only use periodically into the bathroom.  Next, I found some unused Mason jars in the closet, and got to work organizing my beauty supplies…

CIMG3859brushes in one…

CIMG3857
eye shadow palettes in another.

CIMG3862
powders and bronzer up front, ’cause how else am I suppose to get a sunny glow in the Pacific Northwest!?

CIMG3860
My signature “stack” all in one place to eliminate frantic, last minute jewelry searches.

CIMG3851
And finally, this happened 🙂

Let’s see that again, shall we?

CIMG3850CIMG3851

Not too bad if I do say so myself! I have a feeling my morning routine is going to go a lot faster with my makeup much more organized!

–Hanna

2 Responses to “Organize Me Monday: Makeup”

  1. Must Have Boxes June 3, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

    Great before and after!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    • twineats June 4, 2013 at 3:40 am #

      Thank you! I can find everything so much more easily now!

Leave a Reply

