Ups and Downs

8 Jun

Anyone else excited that it’s Saturday? I plan on making full use of my weekend, namely eating at least semi healthy and  actually working out! This week certainly had its ups and downs in the healthy living department. I was able to do some 10 minute abs 3 times this week after work and walking to and from the bus stop on the way to work every day is nothing to sneeze at. I know I can do better!

My eats this week were super random, ranging from healthy..

CIMG3924

..to not so healthy.

CIMG3928

I find that I can eat relatively healthy at the start of the week, but by the end of the week it becomes a bit more challenging.  After a long week, all I want is comfort food!

This week’s reads: 

If you don’t know this already, I am commuting to my internship by bus, which equals out to about 3 hours a day! There is nothing I hate more than wasted time, so I am trying to keep myself busy by reading my time away.

Enter: Why She Buys by Bridget Brennan.

CIMG3929

This book is great!  It basically looks at buying psychology (which I find incredibly fascinating) and how businesses can better reach the woman consumer (who has more purchasing power now than ever!)

So, we already know that men and women are completely different creatures, but did you know…

  • “Women use both sides of their brains for speech, while men use one.  Women also have more never cells in the left half of the brain, the seat of our ability to process language.  This may be why women find verbal communication easier than men do, and tend to have richer vocabularies.” (I don’t know about this one…my boyfriend has a pretty robust vocabulary)
  • “Women have more connections between the two sides of the brain, which may explain why they’re able to do things like make pancakes while composing an email.” (I definitely see this one in myself…I don’t know what I would do if I didn’t multitask!)
  • “Women and men use different strategies to solve spatial problems.  When truing to find their way, women prefer to use landmarks, while men prefer to use “Euclidean information,” which is why they reach for maps.” (I have a terrible sense of direction but regardless, I would agree.  I can’t even read a map let alone use it!)

How was your week? What do you do to keep yourself busy on bus rides, car rides, etc.?

2 Responses to “Ups and Downs”

  1. Miranda @ Miranda Runs June 9, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    I am definitely more talkative than christian! However he is really shy so I guess we have to factor that in 😉

    • twineats June 9, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

      I’m sure you compliment each other really well then 🙂

Leave a Reply

