Quick. Fast. Easy.

26 Aug

This week I’ve given myself a crash course in cooking. Quick, fast and easy cooking that is. Fellow college students, you know my pain! When there is so little time left in the day to worry about cooking your own meals, you may often find yourself reaching for a Cup of Noodles or instant mac-and-cheese. For the record, I have not touched either this year and do not intend to!

Enter: Near East boxed rice/quiona/couscous/any other grain you can think of. The lifesaver you never knew existed UNTIL NOW!

2013-08-24 17.07.19

Follow the simple directions on the back of the box…

2013-08-24 17.16.22

2013-08-24 17.16.34

25 minutes later, out comes fully cooked long-grain, wild rice!

2013-08-24 17.44.14

This time, I chose to pair my rice with chicken and veggies I made earlier in the week. Who says college kids can’t cook gourmet? #keepingitclassy

2013-08-24 17.47.48

Quick. Fast. Easy. That’s my kind of food!

Off to start the first day of the semester! Wish me luck!

–The Twins

2 Responses to “Quick. Fast. Easy.”

  1. Nastacia August 27, 2013 at 1:09 am #

    I practically lived off of quiona last semester during finals…the vegetable toppings saved me. Do you use any cookbooks for reference? I was recommended College Vegetarian Cooking by Megan & Jill Carle, but I’m a little dubious about cookbooks still. Ideas? Recommendations? See you tomorrow in class Hanna!

    • twineats August 28, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

      Cookbooks? Negative. At this point, I am going purely from memory 🙂 As I said in the post, I LOVE Near East. For me, the variety between quiona, wild rice, and couscous is enough to keep my tummy happy without having to go to extremes to make a healthy meal.

Leave a Reply

