Cadence & Cupcakes

17 Sep

It’s Tuesday, and that means a workout update from Haley!

This week, Hanna and I are taking our workouts to the next level, as we ate so badly this weekend for our birthday.  Eating junk food all weekend and not eating regular meals…not healthy living.  #YOLO

2013-09-13 12.03.36

How cute are the birthday “21” cupcakes we made?  White cake with homemade butter cream for the win!

I’m still training for my half marathon (It happens in TWO WEEKS!) and I had lots of opportunity to get in some runs during my birthday week with Hanna.  After looking though some of my favorite blogs, I came across this reading material from Janae and decided to give it a try.

I downloaded a metronome app on my phone and after setting the beat to 90 (like the article says), I matched my foot pattern to the cadence.  I really think it worked!  I am going to experiment this week with my Garmin to see what it can do for my mile times, but for now I felt like the pace made it easier on my knees, and kept my energy sustained.

Give it a try and let us know in the comments how you do!

–The Twins

 

Leave a Reply

