Haley’s Training Tips

24 Sep

This week marks my last week of training for the half marathon!  Remember when I first started running and I could barely go 3 miles?  Now, I’m running long distances and loving it!  This week is an easy week of running, to prepare my legs for the 13.1 miles that I will run on Sunday (look for my recap post then!).

Today, I am going to share some of the tips I have learned along that way–it’s been quite a journey!

2013-09-21 12.01.09

Tip #1:  If you are running more than 6 miles, take water with you!  I use a nifty Fuel Belt system that keeps everything in place for me.

2013-09-21 12.06.07

Tip #2:  Don’t get discouraged if you have a bad day.  There are plenty of times when I am just not feeling in the “groove”.  When that happens, I either shorten my run and instead do Pilates or another activity.  Staying active is what counts!

Tip #3:  Practice for Race Day.  I am picking out my outfit, packing my post-race bag and going on a small run/walk the day before to simulate the real deal.  That way, I can feel prepared.

Tip #4:  Use fuel and get to know your body.  I figured out that I run faster with the jolt of energy that comes from Hammer Gel (the Espresso flavor is life-changing).  Everyone is different, so find out what works for you and go for it!

Tip #5:  No matter what happens, have fun!  I try to stay positive as much as possible, so whether I am on a training run, or when I run this race come Sunday, I am going to enjoy every minute.  It may not be easy, but I have logged over 283 training miles for this race, which is an accomplishment on its own 🙂

Do you have any race day or training tips?

–The Twins

Leave a Reply

