My First Half Marathon Experience!

30 Sep

I just finished my first HALF MARATHON!  After a summer of training, getting Hanna to run with me and some hiccups along the way, I completed it!

2013-09-28 14.24.18-2

On Saturday, I went to the expo to grab my race bib, t-shirt and race info.  This was a pretty small race, so the expo wasn’t very exciting, but I started to feel pumped to be around so many of the runners that I would see during the race!

This morning, I woke up, got ready, then headed to the starting line to warm up with my trainer (my lovely boyfriend) before the race started at 9:30.  I was so nervous, but I could feel the energy of the runners, which was encouraging!  The course was beautiful and I felt so accomplished when I was finished.  Am I happy with my time? Yes!  Could I have done better? Yes!  I felt like I didn’t eat and drink enough before and during the race, which led to me being very low-energy at times.  Next time, I am going to be smart about my fueling.

2013-09-29 09.07.14

 

2013-09-29 16.52.18

Distance-wise, I really enjoy running 13.1.  The furthest that I had ever gone before today was 10 miles (which I love!), so I was proud of what I did today.

Next on my running bucket list? A full marathon, of course!

–The Twins

4 Responses to “My First Half Marathon Experience!”

  1. Miranda @ Lovely Wife Lovely Life September 30, 2013 at 1:47 am #

    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAY congrats!!!

    • twineats October 1, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

      Thanks! I’m totally addicted now 🙂

  2. Aurora September 30, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    Congrats!

    • twineats October 1, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

      Thank you, and good luck on your training!!

Leave a Reply

