Living in Perfect Harmony…Well, Almost.

4 Oct

Don’t get me wrong, I (Hanna) love my housemates. Sometimes though, living with other people reminds me how much I miss living with my sister. Haley is clean, organized, understands me, the list goes on and on. [Insert “awwwwwww” here].

I live with 3 other girls in a cramped two-story house, so we learned to get real close, real fast.

Whether you are getting ready to live with someone else (dorm, apartment, whatever), here are a few tips I’ve picked up along the way on how to (sort of) live in perfect harmony:

1. Understand that not everyone will reach your level of “clean freak.” This has been really difficult for me to grasp. Haley is just as clean and organized as I am (if not more). Realizing that you may be surrounded by mess (this is college for goodness sake) is essential if you don’t want to be ripping your hair out at the sight of a pile of junk in the middle of your living room.

2013-08-18 12.28.58

2. On that same note, organization is KEY for a healthy, happy household. When you are living in a small space, the mess multiplies exponentially. Add 3 other girls in the mix, and you can see where I’m going with this. We have “Weekly Cleaning Parties” where we all pitch in to clean the common areas (kitchen, living room, bathrooms). It keeps everyone accountable for the mess and splits the work evenly so you don’t feel like you’re the only one cleaning.

2013-08-18 12.30.02

3. Take time to just TALK. My roommates and I are all very busy with school, work, and extracurriculars. Taking time to just talk is super important. Instead of taking dinner down to your room, eat with your housemates (whoever happens to be there). Nights bonding over chocolate and ABC Family shows (read: Greek) have made my housemates and I a lot closer–and we’ve only lived together for a month!

4. Be yourself. Be authentic. Your housemates/roommate will appreciate that. Who cares if you love blasting country music and dancing in the living room while you study (umm GUILTY). Chances are, they will too 🙂

What are your tips?

–The Twins

Leave a Reply

